Jennifer Croft, Daisy Rockwell Among Over 100 Literary Translators Calling for Ceasefire in Gaza

'Faced with this carnage, the undersigned literary translators feel morally compelled to oppose the devaluation of Palestinian civilian lives and to call for a ceasefire.'

New Delhi: A group of over 100 literary translators signed a statement in solidarity with the people of Gaza on November13, calling for a ceasefire in Gaza and the end to the violence against Palestinians in the occupied West Bank.

The statement, organised by translators Anna Gunin and Maya Chhabra, addressed the connection translators had with writers from Gaza, despite the strip being “cut off from the rest of the world by a constant blockade since 2007.”

“The Palestinians who live [in Gaza] cannot leave without exit permits from Israel or Egypt,” the statement said. “Gaza’s airspace and sea border are both controlled by Israel. Yet writers from Gaza continue to reach out to tell the world what is happening to them. Sometimes they are killed just days or weeks after their words reach us.”

It said the translators watch “in horror as Israeli bombs fall on Gaza,” citing the current death toll in the area, which now stands at 11,200 people.

“Faced with this carnage, the undersigned literary translators feel morally compelled to oppose the devaluation of Palestinian civilian lives and to call for a ceasefire,” the statement said.

It also said the urgency does not apply only to Gaza, but the West Bank as well. Since Oct. 7, Israeli forces have killed more than 100 Palestinians in the Israeli-occupied West Bank, which is not controlled by Hamas.

“Soldiers abuse detainees; extremist settlers attack Palestinian civilians with impunity,” the statement said. “An equitable resolution that ends the occupation and enables Palestinians and Israelis to live in peace and freedom seems as far away as ever.”

Despite the discouragement felt by Israel’s actions, the statement said the group believes peace is possible and that it starts with protecting civilians.

“We insist that Palestinian lives have equal value and that civilians must be protected at all times,” it said.

Of the translators who signed the statement included International Booker Prize winners Jennifer Croft, Daisy Rockwell and Deborah Smith, as well as Susan Bernofsky and Antonia Lloyd-Jones.

The statement ended by asking other translators and professionals in the field to join them in calling for an immediate ceasefire and lifting of the blockade in Gaza, the release of Israeli hostages and “a just peace that ends the current domination of Palestinian life by the Israeli military occupation, and provides for the freedom, security, and civil and political rights of both peoples.”

The full list of signatories, according to LitHub, are:

Hosam Aboul-Ela

Kareem James Abu-Zeid

Kanika Agrawal

Sascha Akhtar

Nguyễn An Lý

Jocelyne Allen

Alexis Almeida

Kalau Almony

Stine An

Tomoko Aoyama

Sarah Ardizzone

Emily Balistrieri

Polly Barton

Kimrey Anna Batts

Brian Bergstrom

Susan Bernofsky

Rahul Bery

Tarun Bhartiya

Jenny Bhatt

Clarissa Botsford

Conor Bracken

Thomas Bunstead

Peter Bush

Charlène Busalli

Wendy Call

Hope Campbell Gustafson

Juliet Winters Carpenter

Bonnie Chau

Maya Chhabra

David Colmer

Charlotte Collins

David Constantine

Helen Constantine

Richard Coombes

Jennifer Croft

Sinéad Crowe

Howard Curtis

Marissa Davis

Sayari Debnath

Stephen Dodd

Ian Dreiblatt

Ilze Duarte

Patricia Dubrava

Miled Faiza

Pauline Fan

Musharraf Ali Farooqi

Meggie Felisberto

Will Firth

Alex Fleming

Morgan Giles

Claudia Gómes Oliveira

Katherine Gregor

Jason Grunebaum

Gioia Guerzoni

Anna Gunin

Kat Hall

Vighnesh Hampapura

Jein Han

Nicky Harman

Rosalind Harvey

Louise Heal Kawai

Linda Hess

Grace Holleran

Mette Holm

Amanda Hopkinson

Anton Hur

Sawad Hussain

Anne Marie Jackson

Nathan Jeffers

Jayasree Kalathil

Aruni Kashyap

Madhu Kaza

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Jenny Jisun Kim

David Larsen

Fathima E.V.

Janet Elizabeth Lee

Sophia Rebecca Lewis

Antonia Lloyd-Jones

Bruna Dantas Lobato

Archana Madhavan

Ruth Martin

Janet McAdams

Paul McCarthy

David McKay

Florencia Milito

Paige Morris

Ainsley Morse

Ottilie Mulzet

Rob Myatt

Shabnam Nadiya

Nashwa Nasreldin

Takami Nieda

Greg Nissan

Lulu Norman

Lucy North

Kathleen Maris Paltrineri


Zoë Perry

Francoise Pinteaux-Jones

Namrata Poddar

Y. Radhika

Mahmud Rahman


Oliver Ready

Gabi Reigh

Clare Richards

Louise Rogers Lalaurie

Larry Rosenwald

Julia Sanches

Ros Schwartz

Timon Screech

Trista Selous

Vaibhav Sharma

Moazzam Sheikh

Arunava Sinha

Nichola Smalley

Deborah Smith

D.P. Snyder

Isabel Stainsby

Corine Tachtiris

Ginny Tapley Takemori

Kọ́lá Túbọ̀sún

Elton Uliana

Daisy Rockwell

Rachel Valinsky

Katherine Van de Vate

Christina Vega-Westhoff

Alison Watts

Yilin Wang

Shaun Whiteside

Emily Yae Won

Jonathan Wright

Frank Wynne

Roy Youdale

Jeffrey Zuckerman