Rajasthan Local Body Polls: Congress Wins 35 of 49 Chairperson and Mayor Posts

Chief minister Ashok Gehlot appreciated the people's support to the party.

Jaipur: Almost a week after the Congress won most of the councillor posts in the urban local bodies elections in Rajasthan, it won 35 of the 49 posts for chairperson and mayor on Tuesday. The Bhartiya Janta Party managed to win 13 posts, while an independent won the other post in Jaisalmer Nagar Palika.

Congratulating the winners, chief minister Ashok Gehlot tweeted, “This is heartening that Congress candidates have been elected in 35 Urban Local Bodies out of 49 for the post of chairpersons. I congratulate them, party workers and leaders. People have so graciously given their support and we will do our best to fulfill their aspirations.”

Elections were held in three Nagar Nigams, 17 Nagar Parishads and 29 Nagar Palikas. Of these, the Congress sealed victory in one Nagar Nigam, 13 Nagar Parishads and 21 Nagar Palikas, while the BJP emerged on top in two Nagar Nigams, four Nagar Parishads and seven Nagar Palikas.

Also read: Rajasthan: Congress Leads in Local Body Elections, Sweeps 965 Wards

Three candidates won unopposed: BJP’s Babita won the Bharatpur’s Roopwas Nagar Palika; Congress’s Subhash Chandra Sharda and Samreen won Chittorgarh’s Nimbaheda Nagar Palika and Nagaur’s Makrana Nagar Parishad respectively.

Women were elected to 21 posts, while the remaining 28 posts went to men. Where there was a tie, the winner was decided by a lottery.

The first phase of urban civic body elections in the state was held on November 16 for electing 2,105 ward councillors in three Nagar Nigams, 17 Nagar Parishads and 29 Nagar Palikas.

The result was announced on November 19, in which the Congress won 965 wards followed by the BJP with 736 wards. The BSP was victorious in 16 wards, three wards were won by the CPI(M) and 385 went to independent candidates.