Maharashtra Live: Maha Vikas Aghadi Wins Gets 169 Votes in Floor Test

BJP staged a walkout.

Mumbai: The Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government of the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance will face a floor test in the Maharashtra assembly, when the house meets at 2 pm on Saturday.

The government is expected to have a smooth sailing in the floor test. On Sunday, the Assembly Speaker’s election will be held, followed by tabling of motion of thanks on the governor’s address in the House.

The Thackeray government has already promised relief to farmers and has stayed construction work on the Aarey metro car shed. Uddhav, the first from his family and the third from Shiv Sena to hold this post, will have a NCP deputy, though it is not clear if that will be Ajit Pawar.

The drama that began with Devendra Fadnavis being sworn in as the chief minister with Ajit Pawar as his deputy looks to culminate with the former taking up the role of leader of the opposition and the latter reprising the very post he resigned from on Tuesday.

BJP is, notably, the single largest party in the assembly with 105 seats. The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats respectively in the October 21 polls.

Follow live developments from Maharashtra in our blog below.

Note: The live blog may take a few seconds to load. Please don’t go away!