Delhi Election Results Live: Counting Over, AAP Wins 62 of 70 Seats; BJP Takes 8

AAP is set to win in 62 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party has eight seats.

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party has registered another landslide victory in the Delhi assembly elections and is set to form government again. According to the Election Commission, AAP has won in 62 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party in eight seats. AAP’s vote share is currently at 53.7%, and the BJP’s at 38.5%.

The Congress, according to the EC, is not leading in a single seat. Its vote share is a mere 4.2%.

A party needed 36 seats to win in the 70-member assembly.

Counting of votes for the Delhi assembly elections 2020 began at 8 am on Tuesday. Postal ballots were counted first.

The campaign saw a pitched battle between the Aam Aadmi Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party. While the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP focused on issues related to development and the government’s achievements over the last five years, the BJP tried to turn the spotlight on the anti-Citizenship (Amendment) Act protests. Several party leaders made communal remarks against the protestors, and some were pulled up by the Election Commission.

All the exit polls had suggested another sweep for the AAP.

Through the day, The Wire will bring you the results, analysis and more. Stay tuned.

Note: The live blog may take a few seconds to load. Please don’t go away!