The Wire Wins RedInk 'Media Start-up of the Year' Award

The sixth edition of the RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism also honoured T.N. Ninan for Lifetime Achievement and picked NDTV India's Ravish as Journalist of the Year.

Mumbai: The Wire was named the RedInk Media Start-up of the Year on April 26 at the sixth edition of the annual RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism. The RedInk Awards are hosted by the Mumbai Press Club. The Wire contributor and journalist Meher Ali also won the award for the best print/online story under the human rights category for An Uncertain Refuge: The Fate of the Rohingyas in India. The report was published in The Wire in November 2015. 

Veteran journalist T.N. Ninan, who is the chairman and editorial director of Business Standard, was given the Lifetime Achievement award. NDTV India’s senior executive editor Ravish Kumar was named Journalist of the Year. A total of 27 journalists received awards for their work under various categories, including crime, politics, business, environment, sports, health & wellness and lifestyle & entertainment. Entries from The Wire also made it to the short-lists for science, and business.

The RedInk Award for bravery – the ‘RedInk Veer Patrakar Puraskar’ – was posthumously given to journalist Jagendra Singh, and received by his 18-year-old daughter Diksha Singh.

Jagendra Singh, who was based in Uttar Pradesh, ran a Facebook page called Shahjahanpur Samachar, through which he exposed local MLA and Uttar Pradesh minister Ram Murti Verma’s links with illegal sand mining. Singh was set on fire on June 1, 2015, allegedly at Verma’s behest. He lost his life to severe burn injuries on June 8.

At the award ceremony in Mumbai, Maharashtra’s Governor C.H. Vidyasagar Rao called for strong legislation to protect journalists from violence.

A panel discussion titled ‘Who Shot the Messenger’ was moderated by columnist Shobhaa De, and featured Ravish Kumar, veteran journalist Minhaz Merchant, The Wire‘s founding editor Siddharth Varadarajan and Moneylife founder and editor Sucheta Dalal.

Below is the full list of this year’s winners:

Lifetime Achievement : T. N. Ninan, Business Standard

Journalist of the Year : Ravish Kumar, NDTV

Start-up of the Year : The Wire      

Posthumous Award for Brave Reporting: Jagendra Singh

Science & Innovation                    

Print                Gunjan Sharma, The Week

TV                   Pallava Bagla, NDTV

Human Rights                     

Print                Meher Ali, The Wire

TV                   Rana Yashwant, India News


Print                Gunjan Sharma, The Week

Print                Pavithra S Rangan, Outlook

TV                   Mukesh Singh Sengar, NDTV


Print                Vivekananda Nemana & Suresh Ghattamaneni, Grist Media

TV                   Seemi Pasha, India Today

The Big Picture       

Winner            B Muralikrishnan, Mathrubhumi Daily

Runner-Up     Sibu K B, Malayala Manorama Daily

Runner-Up     Kamal Kishore Kamboj, The Press Trust of India


Print                Madhavankutty Pillai, Open Magazine


Print                Anirudha Ghoshal & Pritha Chatterjee, The Indian Express


Print                Jonathan Selvaraj, The Indian Express

TV                   Aamir Rafiq Peerzada, NDTV

Health & Wellness              

Print                Lhendup Gyatso Bhutia, Open Magazine

TV                   India News Team, India News

TV                   Sunetra Choudhury, NDTV

Lifestyle & Entertainment             

Print                Sumana Ramanan, The Caravan

TV                   Ezaz Ahmed, India News