Nine New Judges, Including 3 Women, Appointed to SC After President’s Approval

The new judges include Justice B.V Nagarathna, who will be the first woman CJI in September 2027.

Listen to this article:

New Delhi: Nine new judges including three women, were on Thursday, August 26, appointed to the Supreme Court with President Ram Nath Kovind signing their warrants of appointment.

A formal notification would be issued shortly, sources in the government said.

The new judges of the top court include Justice B.V Nagarathna, who will be in line to be the first woman Chief Justice of India (CJI) in September 2027, Justice Bela M Trivedi, Justice Hima Kohli, Justice C.T. Ravikumar, Justice M.M. Sundresh, and senior advocate and former additional solicitor general P.S. Narasimha.

Justices Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Vikram Nath and Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari are also among those appointed to the Supreme Court.