Voting for 5 State Elections Spread Over November, Results on December 3: EC

Elections will be held across November in the states of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Mizoram.

New Delhi: The date of counting of votes in assembly elections to five states in India is December 3, the Election Commission has announced today, October 9.

In the same press conference, the Chief Election Commissioner, Rajiv Kumar, when asked by a reporter as to when elections to Jammu and Kashmir will be announced, said they will be done “at the right time.” The Union Territory has not had an elected government in the last five years.

The Election Commission announced that Mizoram will go to polls on November 7.

Chhattisgarh will go to polls on November 7 and 17. It is the only state which will have a two-phased election.

In Madhya Pradesh, the date of polling will be November 17.

Rajasthan will go to polls on November 23.

Telangana will go to polls on November 30.

The entire election process will be complete by December 5, the Election Commission said.

There are 679 assembly constituencies in five states, which is around one-sixth of total legislative assembly constituencies in the country. They will have have 16 crore electors which is almost one-sixth of the total electors in the country