Euro 2016: Your Guide to the 24 Teams

Credit: nazionalecalcio/Flickr, CC BY 2.0

Credit: nazionalecalcio/Flickr, CC BY 2.0

The 2016 UEFA European Championships, or just Euro, will be held in France from June 10 to July 10. It will be the 15th edition of the Euro since it began in 1960. Spain is the defending champion.

For the first time, the tournament will be contested by 24 teams, expanded from the 16-team format used since 1996. In the new format’s group stage, there will be six groups of four teams. This will be followed by a knockout stage, including three rounds, and then the final.

Here’s a tour of all the participating teams.

Uzair Hasan Rizvi is an independent multimedia journalist.