Five Kerala Temple Managing Committee Members Surrender

Kollam: Five members of the the Puttingal Devi temple managing committee, who had been absconding since a fire at the temple complex on Sunday (April 10) that claimed 109 persons lives, surrendered early this morning.

Jayalal, president of the temple trust, trust secretary J. Krishnankutty, and members Shivaprasad, Surendran Pillai and Ravindran Pillai surrender to the police in front of a temple at Kappil near Paravoor.

The local crime branch, which has begun an investigations into the fire, has registered a case against six persons, including members of temple managing committee under Section 307 of the IPC (attempt to murder), 308 (attempt to commit culpable homicide) of IPC and under section 4 of Explosives Substances Act.

Cases were also registered against the assistants of contractors who held the ‘competitive’ fireworks display, despite a ban on it by the district administration.

The Kerala high court will hear this morning the plea for a ban on cracker bursting and fireworks display in temple functions.

On Sunday, Kerala witnessed one of the worst temple tragedies in its history when sparks from an unauthorised fireworks display ignited a storeroom filled with crackers and pyrotechnic material.