By-Poll Results: BJP Wins Delhi’s Rajouri Garden, Himachal Pradesh and Assam

Manoj Tiwari campaigning for the Delhi by-polls. Credit: BJP Delhi/Twitter

Manoj Tiwari campaigning for the Delhi by-polls. Credit: BJP Delhi/Twitter

New Delhi: Vote counting for ten assembly constituencies in eight states – Delhi, Karnataka, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Assam and Madhya Pradesh – is currently underway.

According to the seats that have been counted as of now, the Congress seems to have held on to two of the constituencies it won in 2013 but AAP has lost Delhi’s Rajouri Garden to the BJP – increasing the latter’s Delhi assembly tally to four seats. AAP came in a distant third while the BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa won by over 14,500 votes, Live Mint reported.

The BJP has also managed to win constituencies in Rajasthan (Dholpur, which it last won in 2013), Assam (Dhemaji, which it won last year as well) and Madhya Pradesh (Bandhavgarh, which it last won in 2013), according to the Election Commission.

In Assam, the BJP’s Ranoj Pegu has won from the Dhemaji constituency by 9,000 votes. He beat the Congress’s Babul Sonowal.

In Ater, in Madhya Pradesh’s Bhind district, BJP candidate Arvind Singh Bhadoria is leading with 1,129 votes, with Congress candidate Hemant Katare coming in second.

Himachal Pradesh’s Bhoranj seat was won by the BJP’s Anil Dhiman who lead the pack with 8,433 votes.

Meanwhile, voter turnout in Srinagar for the repoll was an abysmal 1% as of 10 am. Only 344 voters of the total 34,169 eligible persons had cast their votes as of 10 am today, according to officials in Srinagar. The repoll was ordered by the Election Commission in the polling stations as the by-poll on April 9 was marred by violence.