Akshay Kumar, 'Pink', 'Neerja', 'Dhanak' All Win National Film Awards

The list of winners for films released in 2016 was announced today with the award ceremony scheduled for May 3 this year.

The Directorate of Film Festivals today announced the winners for the 64th National Film Awards, the ceremony for which will be held on May 3.

Some of the big winners include Bollywood star Akshay Kumar for Best Actor for Rustom and Surabhi Lakshmi for Best Actress for Malayalam film Minnaminungu (The Firefly). Hindi films Pink and Dhanak won for Best Film on Social Issue and Best Children’s Film respectively and Rajesh won Best Director for Marathi film Ventilator.

Other notable wins include Babu Padmanabha winning Best Music Direction for Kannada Lama.

A still from Sathamanam Bhavathi. Credit: Youtube screenshot

A still from Sathamanam Bhavathi. Credit: Youtube screenshot

While Neerja won Best Film in a Regional Language for Hindi, the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment went to Telugu drama Sathamanam Bhavathi.

Here is the complete list of winners.

Press note for the 64th annual National Film Awards by The Wire on Scribd

Read Comments