Elections 2017: Brief Recap of Manipur’s Electoral Politics Ahead of Second Phase of Polling

With the second phase of the Manipur assembly elections set to begin on March 8, The Wire takes you through the candidates contesting from 22 constituencies.

The second and the final phase of polling for the 60-member Manipur assembly covering 22 seats will be held in the state on March 8.

Among others, this phase of voting will decide the fate of chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, deputy chief minister Gaikhangam Gangmei and anti-AFSPA activist Irom Chanu Sharmila.

While the first phase of polling on March 4, covering 38 constituencies, saw a direct battle between the Congress and the BJP in most of the constituencies, in the second phase, the BJP is facing its own allies – the Naga People’s Front and the National People’s Party (NPP) – besides the Congress.

The first phase registered 86.5% polling but also saw a few incidents of violence in the valley districts, including an attack by unknown people on the NPP candidate from Uripok, Y. Joykumar, and the Peoples Resurgence and Justice Alliance candidate Erendro Leichombam (Thambeiband).

One day prior to the polls, the Election Commission also registered FIRs against eight editors of local dailies for publishing advertisements placed by the BJP in violation of the model code of conduct.

Counting of votes for both phases will take place on March 11.

As the second phase of assembly elections in Manipur is set to begin, The Wire takes you through the history of elections and power shifts in the northeastern state.

The Wire’s coverage of Manipur 2017

In this interactive graphic below, The Wire looks at the important candidates contesting from the 22 constituencies. Read on.

Read Comments