Elections 2017: Goa’s Political History and Key Constituencies

The Wire takes a look at the various factors that may impact the Goa assembly elections.


No one is ready to make any predictions on Goa’s 2017 assembly elections. Forty seats in the legislative assembly are up for grabs. With new entrants like the Aam Aadmi Party and a regional coalition by an RSS rebel, in addition to the BJP and Congress, it will be close fight in most assembly constituencies. The BJP is hoping to return on the tailcoat of Union defence minister Manohar Parrikar, who has been leading the campaign, but the party has not projected the incumbent chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar as its candidate, with leaders hinting that Parrikar may return to the state if the party wins.

The Wire’s coverage of Goa 2017

In this interactive graphic below, The Wire recaps the results of the last two elections in Goa, constituency-wise, to give you the lay of the land.